Rob - An introduction

Hi,

My name is Rob. I have been working with people with learning disabilities since 1989 which may sound a long time to most people but seems to have rushed past, to me. But no matter how long you work with people we never stop learning.

For the last nine years I have been working for a charity in Coventry (I moved to Witney in 2010) but commute to Coventry every day).

My work involves assessing providers for people with learning disabilities in regards to their quality of life. We do not duplicate the work of the CQC or the local council (we feed into their commissioning team but our reports and views are independent) but talk with clients, service users - the terminology organisations use differs greatly - and hands-on staff.
I have a co-worker who has some learning disabilities and we work as partners.
We have recently been asked to look at cafes, shops libraries etc in Coventry to assess what reasonable adjustments they have made and should make.
We have also done this work within older people’s providers also.
I would be interested in sharing thoughts and ideas with any like-minded people or organisations.

Rob*

Welcome to the forum, Rob.

My Life My Choice, our local self-advocacy group for people with learning disabilities and Oxfordshire Family Support Network, are starting to work on a Quality Checkers project, commissioned by Oxfordshire County Council, looking at how supported living is working for individual people.

It would be good to link up with you and learn from what you have been doing

Hi JColl. I seem to have missed your reply. Sorry. Is your quality checking work going alright? Rob

Hi Rob, I am not currently involved in this work so will ask those who are to respond to your query.I know the work continues on a regular basis.